Sharing private, public, and interactive dashboards

Follow

When sharing your dashboard there are three different options you can choose from, private, public, and interactive. You must select one of the three options before sharing your dashboard, but you can change your sharing option at any time by clicking the Publish icon ().

Private dashboards

Private dashboards are dashboards that can only be viewed by you. By default, dashboards are private and remain private until another sharing option is selected. Private dashboards can only be viewed in the Dashboard Builder. You cannot view your dashboard in an end-viewer layout until you share it.

If you would like to change a public or interactive dashboard back to private, follow the steps below.

To set a dashboard to private

  1. In the Dashboard menu, click the Publish icon ().
  2. Underneath the Share this dashboard with textbox, click the Advanced link.

  3. Select Private.

  4. Click Ok. You will be redirected to the previous window.
  5. Click Ok again.

Your dashboard will become private. If your viewers try to access the dashboard, they will receive an error message page.

Public dashboards

Public dashboards are available to anyone with the dashboard link. Interactivity options are not supported on public dashboards. If you would like to make a dashboard public, you must turn off interactivity options.

If you would like to share a public dashboard, follow the steps below.

To share a public dashboard
  1. In your dashboard, select one of your tabs.
  2. Click the Interaction options button () in the Tab options menu
  3. Uncheck the following data interaction options:
    • Filters only
    • Filters other only
    • Decompose
    • Drillthrough
    • Focus

  4. Repeat the above steps for every tab on your dashboard.
  5. Open the Dashboard menu, then click the Publish button.
  6. Underneath the Share this dashboard with text box, click the Advanced link.
  7. Select one of the two options available for public dashboards:
    • Public: Your dashboard is visible to anyone with the dashboard link.
    • Password: You can enter a password in Define password for this dashboard. Your dashboard will be visible to anyone with the dashboard link and password.

  8. Click Ok. You will be redirected to the previous window.
  9. Copy the link or embed code for your dashboard under Link to share.

  10. Click Ok.
  11. Click the Publish changes button next to the dashboard menu.

You can then send your dashboard link to your users. If you selected the Password option, be sure to include the dashboard password as well.

Interactive dashboards

Interactive dashboards permit viewers to interact with your results, but require sharing with viewer groups. When sharing an interactive dashboard with your viewer groups, you can select from two different options.
  • BIME authentication
  • Social-media single sign-on authentication

If you would like your viewer groups to only sign in with their BIME credentials, see Publishing and sharing dashboards. If you would like to permit your viewers to sign in using their social-media accounts, please follow the steps below.

To share interactive dashboards with social-media single sign-on authentication
  1. In the Dashboard menu, click the Publish button ().
  2. Underneath the Share this dashboard with box, click the Advanced link.
  3. Select the Viewer groups option.
  4. Enter the viewer groups you would like to share your dashboard with. If you have not created any viewer groups yet, see Creating and managing viewer and viewer groups.
  5. Under with the following authentication methods, select one of the follow authentication methods:
    • BIME Login & Password
    • Google
    • Google Apps
    • Salesforce
    • LinkedIn

    Note: Viewers must sign in with their email address used in their BIME account. Authentication will not work with another email address.
  6. Click Ok. You will be redirected to the previous window.
  7. Click Ok again.
  8. Click Publish changes next to Dashboard menu.

    Your viewers will then be able to view your dashboards using the alternative authentication methods. Depending on the authentication methods you select, the sign in page for your dashboard will resemble the image below.

Sharing previous versions of a dashboard

In BIME, you can revert your dashboards back to a previously published version. You can change a dashboard back to its current version, as long as the current dashboard has been published.

To use a different dashboard version
  1. In the Dashboard menu, click the Publish button ().
  2. Underneath the embed link, click Show published versions.
  3. Select a version of your dashboard from the right panel.

  4. Click the eye icon () next to the timestamp to preview the dashboard. You can add the current dashboard to the list by clicking Publish a new version.
  5. Click the Activate link under the list of dashboard versions.

    The version of your dashboard currently used will be moved to the top of the list, and the word Active will appear next to the version's timestamp.

  6. Click Okay

    Your dashboard will be changed to the selected version.

Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Powered by Zendesk